Chapter 2F: Prince Rupert, BC

Prince Rupert was our second last stop in beautiful British Columbia and boy, was it a spectacular drive there! After driving a little over 1200 km from Kamloops, we reached Charles Hayes Secondary School (CHSS) in Prince Rupert. The weather up there caught me off guard, because I was promised a lot of snow, ice and cold. Instead, we received plenty of rain and fairly mild weather (above 0 degrees Celcius), so what I really mean to say is that I have nothing to complain about. We have just been really really lucky? That and maybe global warming…
On route to Prince Rupert

On route to Prince Rupert

Beautiful day for kayaking

Beautiful day for kayaking

Set up at CHSS was pretty smooth despite being somewhat short-staffed (Lucija left temporarily for a wedding and Kevin replaced her). On top of our usual day time encounter with schools and the public event, film crew from Heritage Canada followed us to get footage to promote Innovation150. Being on camera can be a bit intimidating and is something I am not quite used to yet. I’m not sure I ever will be.

The boys getting interviewed

The boys getting interviewed

Prince Rupert is a pretty small city with a population just over 12,500 people, so it was great to see so many students and general public come out to our events. We had a mix of students at this venue, from the middle school just around the corner to the Tsimshian villages around the Prince Rupert area. Students from the Lax Kw’Alaams and Metlakatla communities traveled a few hours just to come see us, so I really hope they enjoyed it! Due to time constraints, our question period and discussion at the end of the presentation was cut short, so I did not get as many ideas written down for my engagement piece. However, I did manage to get two:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


This was one of my favourite public events, because I had one of the best interactions with a mother who was so interested physics! She had a background in environmental sciences, but was so drawn to the concepts in quantum physics and general relativity. I talked to her for about 20 minutes, starting from how the Large Hadron Collider worked to gravitational waves. It made me so happy to be able to connect with someone else on a topic that neither of us had an expertise in, because it demonstrated longstanding curiosity inside us and persistence to try to understand a topic so abstract. That’s something important to me. From my personal observations, people often become jaded, we lose interest, curiosity and creativity. I never want to lose that and so I was thrilled to be able to share this with someone else.

Watching the exhibit interaction from up above

Watching the exhibit interaction from up above

Leave a Reply

